Susan Wilkins is a best-selling author best known for addictive, page turning crime fiction.

 Set in London and Essex, her ‘blazingly brilliant’ debut trilogy (The Informant, The Mourner and The Killer – click here to buy) features Kaz Phelps, a take-no-prisoners heroine fighting to escape her past.

 Susan’s Detective Megan Thomas series focuses on a tough and determined D.S who relocates from London to Devon after years spent deep undercover. In Buried Deep, Megan investigates a murder in a sleepy countryside town. The sequel, Close To The Bone, is available to order here.

 In 2019 Susan wrote the prescient political thriller A Killer’s Heart, available on Amazon here. A deadly disease sweeps through the country, as Adam Hardy recovers from a heart transplant. But strange visions haunt him. His donor wasn’t killed in an accident – he was murdered. Adam’s memories could solve who is unleashing the virus – but can he untangle the truth in time?

 After a degree in Law and a stint as a journalist, Susan wrote for television for twenty five years. She created the pioneering BBC detective drama South of the Border, and has over 130 broadcast credits to her name including Casualty and Holby City, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders, Footballer’s Wives, Dangerfield and Down to Earth.

 Susan now lives on the Devon coast, and walks by the sea every day.

For Susan’s latest news and events click here.


Image of Torbay viewed from Elberry Cove towards Torquay, South West England UK

 News And Events

Check back for regular updates, from new launches and events to book recommendations and musings. 

Her Perfect Husband – New

She thinks he’s perfect. But is he playing her for a fool?  Sophie Latham is a successful businesswoman used to getting what she wants. At thirty-nine, with her biological clock ticking, she wants a baby and marriage to her gorgeous personal trainer, Ollie Harmon....

read more

Crime Fiction Inspiration.

   Crime Fiction Inspired by true crime. FIVE OF MY FAVOURITESMaking sense of the senseless is at the heart of the crime writer's job. The dark side of human nature frightens and fascinates us. What crime novels do is allow us to explore experiences and...

read more

She’s Gone – Out Now

Marcia Lennox has a life most people would envy: a loving husband, Harry, a beautiful and clever daughter, Phoebe, and a high-flying career. And eighteen-year-old Phoebe has won a place at one of the most prestigious colleges in the country.  But in her third week at...

read more

A Seasonal Classic – With A Twist

   Upside Down Mince PiesShortcrust Pastry Sift 225g plain flour into a large bowl, add 100g diced butter and rub in with your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in a pinch of salt, then add 2-3 tbsp water and mix to a firm dough....

read more

Close To The Bone – Excerpt

   PrologueHe laughs. Of course he does. Stupid bitch. Is she actually threatening him? He’s bigger and stronger than her; it’s not a fight she can win. She must know that. ‘I get it,’ he says. ‘You’re upset.’ Her body is rigid with rage, her breathing...

read more

A Bonfire Night Treat

   Toffee Apples A blast from the past! Here's my recipe for a little something on bonfire night. 6 small apples (preferably a variety with a bit of a bite to offset the sweetness of the toffee) 225g Demerara sugar 110ml water 1tsp white wine vinegar 2tbsp...

read more

Autumn Inspiration

   Agatha Christie's Greenway Susan is in the process of planning and writing a new book and she needed somewhere inspirational to go. A beautiful walk in nature but also inspiring in terms of crime fiction. Luckily Susan lives close to Agatha Christie’s old...

read more

New Detective Megan Thomas Novel Out Now

   Susan’s latest book, the second in the Detective Megan Thomas series, is out now. Detective Megan Thomas hoped that moving to Devon would mean a quiet life. Her years undercover in London left her broken and alone, unsure if she would ever recover. But...

read more