fbpx

CRIME THRILLER FICTION

Fast paced crime fiction from best-selling author Susan Wilkins

Susan's BooksNEWSLETTER

Welcome

Thank you for visiting the website of best-selling author Susan Wilkins. Here you can find addictive, page turning crime fiction, along with reviews, news, events and exclusive content. 

After a degree in Law and a stint as a journalist, Susan wrote for television for twenty five years. She created the pioneering BBC detective drama South of the Border, and has over 130 broadcast credits to her name including Casualty and Holby City, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders. 

Susan’s debut novel, The Informant, was published in 2014, and since then she has been delighting readers with gripping thrillers you won’t be able to put down. 

SUSAN’S BOOKS

THE KAZ PHELPS SERIES

Set in London and Essex, the Kaz Phelps series tells a story of ruthless criminals, corrupt cops, obsessive love and the villainy that operates on both sides of the law.

As a teenage tearaway, Kaz Phelps took the rap for her little brother Joey. Six years later she’s released on licence, desperate to escape the violence and turmoil of her Essex gangster family.

IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ME

DC Jo Boden was eleven years old when her older sister, Sarah, was brutally murdered during her first year at University. Her boyfriend, Nathan Wade, was convicted of the killing.

Now, sixteen years later, Wade is being released on licence and documentary film-maker, Briony Rowe, says she can prove his innocence.

Jo grew up believing her sister was perfect in every way, but even she starts to question the evidence which put Wade behind bars. And perhaps Sarah harboured some dark secrets of her own.

It Should Have Been Me

THE MEGAN THOMAS SERIES

Detective Megan Thomas spent years undercover. It cost her a marriage and her peace of mind, but she got the job done.

She moves to Devon for a fresh start, a quieter pace of life – but the countryside is full of dark secrets too.

Can Megan find justice for others, when she’s no longer sure of herself?

The Right Side Of The Line. Free and exclusive when you sign up here.

A KILLER’S HEART

A gripping political thriller with a shocking conspiracy at its heart.

A heart transplant saved Adam Hardy’s life. But as he recovers from surgery, strange visions surface. Adam’s organ donor wasn’t killed in an accident – he was murdered.

For fans of Michael Crichton, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

Reviews

What Readers are Saying

The Informant

An excellent read that is well plotted and unflinchingly told.

Sunday Mirror

It Should Have Been Me

A first rate thriller, tense and twisty… a writer at the very top of her game.

Elly Griffiths

Buried Deep

Compulsive and thoroughly captivating… I read it all in a single tense sitting.

Reader’s Retreat

A Killer’s Heart

 Unpredictable, intricately woven… I couldnt stop reading.

Amazon Reviewer

Coastlines

Always fascinated by the sea, Susan walks along the Devon coast every day. You’ll often find watery worlds in her fiction, from sleepy Devon harbours to the murky depths of the Thames.

Good Reads

You’ll find a wide range of books on Susan’s bedside table. If pressed, her favourite comfort read is Daphne du Maurier. However when writing she prefers non-fiction. Connect with her on Goodreads here.

Cooking Up A Storm

If she needs a break from plotting her latest novel, you’ll find Susan experimenting with a new recipe in the kitchen, or enjoying a cup of coffee in the garden. Her mince pies are very popular, often making an appearance outside of Christmas festivities. 

Bright Lights, Big City

Susan moved to London in 1981, living in various parts of South London before moving to Stoke Newington, opposite a newsagent selling the best homemade Turkish Delight. Her favourite parts of the city are the riverside and Greenwich Park.

Tools Of The Trade

Today, Susan dictates the majority of her books using some handy software – less screen time, more thinking time. But her office still has its fair share of notebooks, whiteboards, post it notes and cue cards to keep every plot in shape.

Estuary English

Although Susan’s experience of growing up in Essex was quite different from Kaz, the heroine in her debut novel The Informant, the county lends itself well to fiction, from colourful characters to even more colourful language…

 News And Events

Check back for regular updates, from new launches and events to book recommendations and musings. 

A Seasonal Classic – With A Twist

   Upside Down Mince PiesShortcrust Pastry Sift 225g plain flour into a large bowl, add 100g diced butter and rub in with your fingertips until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in a pinch of salt, then add 2-3 tbsp water and mix to a firm dough....

read more

Close To The Bone – Excerpt

   PrologueHe laughs. Of course he does. Stupid bitch. Is she actually threatening him? He’s bigger and stronger than her; it’s not a fight she can win. She must know that. ‘I get it,’ he says. ‘You’re upset.’ Her body is rigid with rage, her breathing...

read more

A Bonfire Night Treat

   Toffee Apples A blast from the past! Here's my recipe for a little something on bonfire night. 6 small apples (preferably a variety with a bit of a bite to offset the sweetness of the toffee) 225g Demerara sugar 110ml water 1tsp white wine vinegar 2tbsp...

read more

Autumn Inspiration

   Agatha Christie's Greenway Susan is in the process of planning and writing a new book and she needed somewhere inspirational to go. A beautiful walk in nature but also inspiring in terms of crime fiction. Luckily Susan lives close to Agatha Christie’s old...

read more

New Detective Megan Thomas Novel Out Now

   Susan’s latest book, the second in the Detective Megan Thomas series, is out now. Detective Megan Thomas hoped that moving to Devon would mean a quiet life. Her years undercover in London left her broken and alone, unsure if she would ever recover. But...

read more