fbpx

CRIME THRILLER FICTION

Fast paced crime fiction from best-selling author Susan Wilkins

 

OUT NOW THE BRAND NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER SHE’S GONE. CLICK HERE TO BUY

Susan's Books NEWSLETTER

Welcome 

Thank you for visiting the website of best-selling author Susan Wilkins. Here you can find addictive, page turning crime fiction, along with reviews, news, events and exclusive content. 

After a degree in Law and a stint as a journalist, Susan wrote for television for twenty five years. She created the pioneering BBC detective drama South of the Border, and has over 130 broadcast credits to her name including Casualty and Holby City, Heartbeat, Coronation Street and Eastenders. 

Susan’s debut novel, The Informant, was published in 2014, and since then she has been delighting readers with gripping thrillers you won’t be able to put down. 

Image of Susan Wilkins welcoming viewers to her website

SUSAN’S BOOKS

SHE’S GONE

Marcia Lennox has a life most people would envy: a loving husband, Harry, a beautiful and clever daughter, Phoebe, and a high-flying career.

 But in her third week at university, Phoebe disappears. The police suspect the worst and Marcia begins to unravel.

 Her perfect existence is just a front, created to escape a dark past. Can she face her demons to save her daughter?

 An addictive psychological thriller for fans of Rachel Abbott and Lisa Jewell.

Image of book cover She's Gone by Susan Wilkins. A lone female figure standing at a large window looking out onto a dark street.

A KILLER’S HEART

A gripping political thriller with a shocking conspiracy at its heart.

A heart transplant saved Adam Hardy’s life. But as he recovers from surgery, strange visions surface. Adam’s organ donor wasn’t killed in an accident – he was murdered.

For fans of Michael Crichton, David Baldacci and James Patterson.

Image of the cover for A Killer's Heart by Susan Wilkins. The figure of a man walking away from the light in a dark tunnel

THE MEGAN THOMAS SERIES

Detective Megan Thomas spent years undercover. It cost her a marriage and her peace of mind, but she got the job done.

She moves to Devon for a fresh start, a quieter pace of life – but the countryside is full of dark secrets too.

Can Megan find justice for others, when she’s no longer sure of herself?

The Right Side Of The Line. Free and exclusive when you sign up here.

Image of the cover of Buried Deep by Susan Wilkins featuring a misty sea with a rocky shoreline and a female figure standing on the rocks looking out to sea
Image of book cover Close To The Bone by Susan Wilkins. A lone female figure standing on a causeway waves crashing around her
Image of book cover for The Right Side Of The Line by Susan Wilkins. Shallow sea water with the sun sparkling on the water showing the sand beneath giving a sense of going out to sea

IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ME

DC Jo Boden was eleven years old when her older sister, Sarah, was brutally murdered during her first year at University. Her boyfriend, Nathan Wade, was convicted of the killing.

Now, sixteen years later, Wade is being released on licence and documentary film-maker, Briony Rowe, says she can prove his innocence.

Jo grew up believing her sister was perfect in every way, but even she starts to question the evidence which put Wade behind bars. And perhaps Sarah harboured some dark secrets of her own.

Image of the cover foe It Should Have Been Me by Susan Wilkins. A escalator in the underground travelling upwards showing the feet and lower legs of a lone female portraying a sense of jeopardy

THE KAZ PHELPS SERIES

Set in London and Essex, the Kaz Phelps series tells a story of ruthless criminals, corrupt cops, obsessive love and the villainy that operates on both sides of the law.

As a teenage tearaway, Kaz Phelps took the rap for her little brother Joey. Six years later she’s released on licence, desperate to escape the violence and turmoil of her Essex gangster family.

Image cover of a female and male figure. The male has his arm around the female to signify a controlling stance
Image of book cover for The Mourner by Susan Wilkins showing a female and male figure portraying a sense of threat.
Image of the cover of The Killer by Susan Wilkins showing the underground platform with a tube train pulling away. A lone female figure walking along the platform has no one to depend upon

Reviews

What Readers are Saying

She’s Gone

Another addictive, compelling read from Susan Wilkins. The tension builds from the first page. 

Debbie Howells

It Should Have Been Me

A first rate thriller, tense and twisty… a writer at the very top of her game.

Elly Griffiths

A Killer’s Heart

 Unpredictable, intricately woven… I couldnt stop reading.

Amazon Reviewer

Buried Deep

Compulsive and thoroughly captivating… I read it all in a single tense sitting.

Reader’s Retreat

Coastlines

Always fascinated by the sea, Susan walks along the Devon coast every day. You’ll often find watery worlds in her fiction, from sleepy Devon harbours to the murky depths of the Thames.

Good Reads

You’ll find a wide range of books on Susan’s bedside table. If pressed, her favourite comfort read is Daphne du Maurier. However when writing she prefers non-fiction. Connect with her on Goodreads here.

Cooking Up A Storm

If she needs a break from plotting her latest novel, you’ll find Susan experimenting with a new recipe in the kitchen, or enjoying a cup of coffee in the garden. Her mince pies are very popular, often making an appearance outside of Christmas festivities. 

Bright Lights, Big City

Susan moved to London in 1981, living in various parts of South London before moving to Stoke Newington, opposite a newsagent selling the best homemade Turkish Delight. Her favourite parts of the city are the riverside and Greenwich Park.

Tools Of The Trade

Today, Susan dictates the majority of her books using some handy software – less screen time, more thinking time. But her office still has its fair share of notebooks, whiteboards, post it notes and cue cards to keep every plot in shape.

Estuary English

Although Susan’s experience of growing up in Essex was quite different from Kaz, the heroine in her debut novel The Informant, the county lends itself well to fiction, from colourful characters to even more colourful language…